Image

After returning from the wonderful Firenze, I am now here living in Edinburgh and working as Volunteer Projects Assistant at Collective. It has been a busy first month and lots of organising in preparation for the John Kinross Scholarship feedback session and also for the up and coming New Contemporaries Show in April. 

Image

Today marks my first month here at Collective. The melancholic sound of Andy Holden’s work travels through the gallery space invisibly, evoking an immediate sense of emotion. I have really enjoyed volunteering here, it has been a wonderful experience so far…

My first day involved doing a lot of painting, getting into overalls and experiencing the gallery as a blank canvas. Then we had the opening, which involved a lot of whisky and then the lecture on nests and now the it is the show. I spend every morning dusting the plaster sculptures, like they are small organic life forms. Everyday, they change. They are wonderful objects and I feel that their process within the gallery has allowed them to become their own natural habitats. The landscape of the gallery is peaceful. It captivates you, and yet it is wonderful to be able to see the world outside pass through the large glass windows. Collective is a lovely, intimate space and I very much look forward to experiencing many more of its transformations as a gallery….

